bad blogger product reviews

by Holly on December 18, 2010

in reviews

I am going to warn you all that things are about to get pretty introspective around these Everythingtarian parts.

I blame it on the fact my 26th birthday, sister’s wedding, the Christmas holiday and coming of 2011 all fall within two weeks of each other this year. I also have the next nine days off from work, which is only going to exacerbate the fact I will have loads of time in my hands to think and overthink.

Me + too much time to think = melodramatic, emo-inspired introspective posts

Like I said, you’ve been warned.

Right now however, I am going to save you from the teen angst and provide you with some long overdue product reviews. And when I say overdue, I mean by like a month.

Bad blogger.

Progresso has a new line of soups out – a collection of both world recipes as well as some lightened up versions of classic soups. In conjunction with Progresso and My BlogSpark, I was sent several soups for free to try and review. I received the Chicken Tortilla and a light version of Clam Chowder as well as the cutest soup bowl, spoon and metal can rack.

The verdict? I surprisingly found both soups quite flavorful and delicious! The ingredients list was fine (nothing too funky on them). The only thing I found disappointing was for both soups, the whole can was less than 250 calories, which is NOT going to fill mama (read: me) up for lunch. Needless to say, I found myself hungry a short two hours later after both.

Genesis Today, a health company that makes superfruit juices, offered to send me a sample of their Cranberry Goji Juice. While I am not a huge juice drinker (I prefer coffee, obvs), one look at these antioxidant-packed, superfruit-laden liquids, and I knew I had to at least give it a try.

The verdict? The juice was AMAZING! It may have tasted even better due to the fact I chugged it after spending all of Monday packing our office + moving boxes at work, but I loved it.

Genesis Today is also giving away a free 3-month supply of juice (a $600 value!). Click here to enter! There are 27 chances to win, but the deadline IS tomorrow. Sorry for the short timeline. Like I said, I’m a bad blogger.

In conjunction with MyBlogSpark and General Mills, I was also lucky enough to receive a sample of the new Cinnamon Burst Cheerios to video review. Since I already have a Flip video, I gave this one away on the blog, but I still have yet to record the review on my Flip video.

The verdict? Review pending with filming of said video.

In more bad blogger news, the only pictures I got of our sugar cookie decorating party last night were these shots with my friend Natalie’s camera, because I forgot mine.

I’m not going to lie.

I am pretty friggin’ good at cookie decorating.

With that, I am off to finish the 1,354,913 things I need to do before leaving for Minnesota, celebrating my birthday, celebrating my sister’s wedding {!!!} and enjoying a lazy Christmas at the Everythingtarian household.

I swear, I’m stopping this bad blogger streak, and that is going to happen today.

***************************

Don’t forget to donate and help Brandi + I raise money for Jovenes en Camino, an orphanage in Honduras for abused, homeless and orphaned children. We are scarily close to already reaching $1,000! Donate here, por favor.

{ 28 comments }

Heather (Perspective Is Everything) December 18, 2010 at 12:00 pm

i must say, you are pretty friggin’ good at cookie decorating :)
i love that soup spoon! it makes me just want to eat soup! how can a spoon do that?!

Tina @ Faith Fitness Fun December 18, 2010 at 12:13 pm

Those are some pretty impressively decorated cookies! And i get way too introspective when I have too much time on my hands too.

Chris December 18, 2010 at 12:22 pm

Merry Christmas, Happy Birthday, & Happy New Year!!! Don’t worry about the introspectiveness, in the long run, it make you stronger & proves that you are human.

Keep on blogging!

-Chris

Teri [a foodie stays fit] December 18, 2010 at 12:57 pm

um dude…now i have major guilt for all the product reviews I need to do.

you are pretty good at cookie decorating. the little dress is adorable.

Erica December 18, 2010 at 1:14 pm

Sometimes I get ridiculously backed up with product reviews too, so I feel for you. I want to try those cinnamon cheerios…but I will await your video review. Gorgeous job on the cookies. I have no artistic talent, so I am very jealous :)

Carbzilla December 18, 2010 at 1:18 pm

If it makes you feel any better, you are soooo not the only one behind on her reviews. Like wayyyy behind. :)

This is a hard time of year even though it’s such a happy time. Feel free to introspect away. We’re here for you!

Carrie (Moves 'N Munchies) December 18, 2010 at 1:24 pm

i must say I am so jealous of you and all bloggers who get product reviews! I cant seem to find a group in the UK that sends products for us to review!

Matt December 18, 2010 at 1:30 pm

I have like 10 reviews I need to write. LOL.

Gabriela @ Une Vie Saine December 18, 2010 at 1:40 pm

The last time I decorated sugar cookies was like five years ago and they turned out so horribly that I was forever traumatized. I think I need to give it another go.

Averie (LoveVeggiesandYoga) December 18, 2010 at 1:48 pm

leaving for Minnesota, celebrating my birthday, celebrating my sister’s wedding = HAVE FUN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I am going to have a Jan filled w/ reviews. I have been contacted by tons of ppl who were going to send me stuff while I am gone on my holiday (month) right now. And when I return, the mailbox runneth over. I know it. Which means in Jan blog will runneth over with reviews. A month late. But oh well :)

You are the 3rd person i know who will be in MN from the blog world. Why when i grew up there was no one ever traveling to MN for the holidays?! They were all going to Florida! haha!

Katie December 18, 2010 at 2:04 pm

Your cookies look like works of art for real! Love it!

omg I need to try those cinnamon cheerios!!! I have never seen those!

U have busy things ahead but great things!!! love u! xoxo Thanks for the email regarding almond mill! Muah!

Susan December 18, 2010 at 3:26 pm

In unrelated news, I’ve been trying to donate to your and Brandy’s cause and it won’t accept my credit card! Not sure why, keeps saying it’s not a valid card number even though my card still works everywhere else. Maybe it doesn’t like Canadians?

uncle tommie timbertoes December 18, 2010 at 5:19 pm

I like soup.

chelsey @ clean eating chelsey December 18, 2010 at 7:49 pm

I’m such a bad blogger when it comes to reviews too – I need to get on that.

Mihaila December 18, 2010 at 8:27 pm

Ms. Cookie Moster? No. . . Mz. Cookie Master – A quick tip for the soup: Add a little oatmeal (2-4 tbps or more). I figured this out just yesterday with Progresso – it makes it more of a ‘stew’ thickness, but its REALLY good.

-Mihaila

Katie December 19, 2010 at 12:11 am

You gotta pimp those soups out with more fun stuff. That’s what I do. I’m a pimper.

I’m in Minneapolis for the weekend too. Its cold here, but I bet you knew that. How long are you going to be here?

Eden December 19, 2010 at 12:25 am

You are not a bad blogger. In all honesty, I am a bit bored of product reviews. I rather you make up some fabulous recipe. But I get the guilt. They send you free stuff and you feel you kind of owe them one.

Eden December 19, 2010 at 12:26 am

o and I’d like to clarify that I’m bored of product review in the general blogosphere, not yours in particular ;)

Madeline - Greens and Jeans December 19, 2010 at 8:30 am

Well, luckily, I think you rock at life so that definitely trumps being a bad blogger any day!

julie December 19, 2010 at 9:46 am

hahaha if it makes you feel better i’m pretty sure i have stuff from over a year ago left to review. whoopsies! i didnt know cheerios had cin bursties!

btws i’m secretly (or not so secretly) really excited for your upcoming festitivies!!!

amanda December 19, 2010 at 5:37 pm

a cookie decorating party? that sounds divine! i love that idea. and man, do you have mad skills, girl! holla, holla.

Jess December 19, 2010 at 7:47 pm

Girl, you are NOT a bad blogger. You’re a freakin’ fabulous one. :)

Lindsay @ Pinch of Yum December 19, 2010 at 8:57 pm

I would not mind getting one of those can racks myself! How convenient. And I can’t wait for the video review of Cinnamon Cheerios, because, off the bat, they sound excellent. I hope I’m right!

Kacy December 20, 2010 at 8:29 am

I love a good introspective post or 5. Can’t wait!

I can be so bad with reviews as well…

Sissy #1 December 20, 2010 at 1:12 pm

Don’t think I have forgotten about your bday either…. ba ha ha

Sami December 20, 2010 at 2:49 pm

those racks are a cool idea! i need to try some genesis juice!

Lisa December 20, 2010 at 6:45 pm

What glaze/icing recipe did you use for your cookies? They look great!

Lauren December 22, 2010 at 1:22 pm

I would not call you a bad blogger…. EVER!!

Comments on this entry are closed.

{ 1 trackback }

Previous post:

Next post: