recalibration, day 1 {review}

by Holly on February 27, 2011

in breakfast,dessert,detoxing,life,lunch,rambling,recipes

It all started so well.

I got 10 hours of sleep.

I began the day with a kombucha + nutrient-rich bowl of oatmeal.

I made guidelines for getting back on track.

I said no to a couple of friend outings so I could stay home, cook, clean, laze about + finally finish watching Half-Nelson, which I am pretty sure I have mentioned several times now that I’ve had on loan from Netflix for more than three months.

Most shockingly, I didn’t even have coffee.

And I felt good!

I felt so good in fact that as I read my daily dose of People.com yesterday, I convinced myself I should have been cast in the remake of Wonder Woman, even though Lynda Carter and her predecessor definitely don’t have curly, Medusa-like hair. Minor detail, me thinks.

I mean…

She cooks Mashed Faux-tatoes!

She eats sliced apples dipped in coconut peanut butter out of a creepy cat mug!

She eats massive junk salads out of humongous mixing bowls!

She bakes all-natural vegan cookies to rationalize that somehow, because they are made with natural sugar, spelt flour and chia seeds; they are okay to eat when detoxing recalibrating!

She can fist not one, not two but THREE cookies at a time!

Is there anything this stunning Everythingtarian of a Wonder Woman can’t do?

No!

Wait.

Yes.

Ummm…

The answer is yes.

Apparently, Wonder {everythingtarian} Woman can’t stick to recalibration plans. Three beers, one shot (the Red-Headed Slut was against my will), a 2am bedtime and 6 1/2 hours of sleep later, I have failed my body within 24 hours of beginning a rather easy, non-crazy recalibration plan.

Luckily, my no-fail hangover plan works everytime: two eggs + smashed avocado on Ezekiel toast and a morning cocktail of water, coffee + two Advil.

My punishment?

A 7-mile run in the snow, one dirty apartment in need of a cleaning, dishes piled so high in my sink I can’t see the faucet and egregious amounts of fiber, in the form of figuring out how to use up 6 cups of chickpeas.

In true superhero style, onward and upward I go.

{ 35 comments }

Matt @ The Athlete's Plate February 27, 2011 at 12:03 pm

Hang in there Holly!

chelsey @ clean eating chelsey February 27, 2011 at 12:05 pm

You crack me up – I don’t even know how to respond to this because I am laughing so hard.

kathleen February 27, 2011 at 12:07 pm

There’s always tomorrow =)

Evan Thomas February 27, 2011 at 12:08 pm

Rome wasn’t built in a day(I know, I study that shiz-nit) so no one can expect to change overnight. You’re going to hit your stride eventually. Baby steps.

Kimberly February 27, 2011 at 12:10 pm

I’ve been following you on FB for a while. This, by far, is my fav. Crack’n me up!

Teri [a foodie stays fit] February 27, 2011 at 12:23 pm

hahahaha! I just love you and your posts. No worries, no guilt – You gotta have some fun, even when recalibrating! It’s the weekend – tomorrow’s a new day! :)

Excess of Chickpeas = HUMMUS

Low February 27, 2011 at 12:39 pm

I think half a day of recalibration is all it really takes. You’re good :)

One Healthy Apple February 27, 2011 at 1:03 pm

I really don’t see this as a failure- it looks like a heck of a good time to me! When you look back on being in your 20s I bet you’ll never regret being out with your friends. Just laugh it off and re-calibrate the rest of the day!

Ashley @ 365 things February 27, 2011 at 1:16 pm

Hey, who says your recalibration has to be perfect. Shoot for say, 80/20 and your golden. :)

I must say, I WILL copy your breakfast. It looks too damn good not to.

Jessica February 27, 2011 at 1:23 pm

A for effort my love, A for effort :)

You’re still young–live it up and enjoy!

And you need to make channa masala with all those chickpeas! So many good recipes lurking around blog world and you can never go wrong with a big (and I mean bigg) bowl of spicy, tomato-y chickpeas with yummy, warm naan on the side! Or you could always make some type of sweet and/or savory type of roasted chickpeas to throw over salads or eat alone!! love youu

Callie February 27, 2011 at 1:42 pm

Holly, I just began reading your blog and I find so many similarities between us! I live in Milwaukee, so I feel ya about the crazy cold weather. That’s why warm oatmeal is, sadly, the highlight of my day! You are such an inspiration, your photography is beautiful, and your humor is refreshing. I will definitely keep reading as long as you keep blogging! :)

sarah (sarah learns) February 27, 2011 at 2:04 pm

i’ve got to say, this post made me love you even more! especially your description of your protested red-headed slut shot (i HATE jeager!). sounds like you’ve more than recovered and are moving on. :)

Erica February 27, 2011 at 2:37 pm

I still think thats a great first day!! I love faux mashed potatoes. Cauliflower rocks. And coconut peanut butter? That sounds amazing. I need to get me some. I cleaned a lot today too. Sometimes thats what Sundays are for- right? Enjoy the rest of your day

Averie (LoveVeggiesAndYoga) February 27, 2011 at 2:42 pm

Coconut PB, nice!

the cookies look and sound wonderful!

and chickpeas! I love roasting them and have a few recipes for them. They may break your detox rules though…b/c they involve using cinnamon, sugar, brown sugar, vanilla, or peanut flour. But they would be worth breaking rules for. Promise :)

Katie February 27, 2011 at 4:11 pm

Being preggo is like a forced nine month recalibration…I am just the teensiest bit jealous of your late night.

Ally (oatsandspice) February 27, 2011 at 4:24 pm

You take the best food pictrues – everything looks so good!

Kate (What Kate is Cooking) February 27, 2011 at 5:20 pm

Haha, I swear that after my best attempts at cleaning up my eating comes some of my worst eating :) You made a good effort, though!

Sarah @ One Love Sarah February 27, 2011 at 6:42 pm

I love this! You can get back on track! I believe

Amanda (Eating Up) February 27, 2011 at 6:58 pm

I don’t know Holly…it sounds like that night was totally worth it. You’re young! Have fun! :-)

Caitlin @ TPL February 27, 2011 at 7:43 pm

It was a valiant effort, wonder womyn would be proud! And as long as you had fun don’t feel too bad =)

Jess February 27, 2011 at 9:02 pm

Sounds like you were still pretty successful to me! Love that post-night out bfast!!

Andrea@WellnessNotes February 27, 2011 at 10:47 pm

There is nothing better than eggs and coffee for a hangover! ;) I think you are doing pretty well though…. :)

Lauren February 27, 2011 at 11:39 pm

You are so funny :) Although you did not stick to your schedule… at least you are having fun.
“Get busy living, or get busy dying”

Hope the hangover wasn’t too bad!

sofia February 28, 2011 at 12:19 am

this is why i don’t even attempt de- or no-toxes. i will inevitabily lose to the booze. and pizza. and desserts. so why bother trying to say no? isn’t this the year of yes?! ;)

Nikki February 28, 2011 at 1:25 am

Thanks for keeping it real with us.

Lindsay @ Pinch of Yum February 28, 2011 at 6:41 am

Hahaha yessss. Thank you for being REAL! I so so so appreciate it. And guess what? You can jump back on the bandwagon today, which it looks like you already did. :)

Madeline - Greens and Jeans February 28, 2011 at 8:10 am

Oh man, story of my life. Why does beer have to be so good?

Sarah February 28, 2011 at 9:30 am

Every moment is a new one, right? You’ve got this.

Stephanie @ Thorns Have Roses February 28, 2011 at 3:42 pm

I would like to thank you for the official introduction to the new love of my life. Ezekial bread is so.much.better than I thought it would be. I am officially in <3.

Megan (Braise the Roof) February 28, 2011 at 3:54 pm

Oh, I feel ya girl. But it’s all about balance anyway, right? I mean, you did do a lot of good things before the red headed slut… :) Roast those chickpeas! They’re better than chips (but equally addictive)!

Heather @ Get Healthy with Heather February 28, 2011 at 5:31 pm

Today is a new day and a fresh start. You’ll get there girl!

Beth @ Beth's Journey to Thin February 28, 2011 at 7:42 pm

hahaha you are hysterical! I’m sorry you were forced to drink Jager against your will – that is ROUGH.

Gillian February 28, 2011 at 8:18 pm

This post makes me love you even more. Life is all about spelt cookies and shots. Wonder woman didn’t stay at home and do laundry.

janetha @ meals and moves March 1, 2011 at 2:16 pm

ten hours of sleep and zero ounces of coffee? who are you?

p.s. love and miss you!

janetha @ meals and moves March 1, 2011 at 2:18 pm

p.s. i think it’s clear that i was referring to your recalibrated self. not your unrecalibrated self. but just in case.

Comments on this entry are closed.

Previous post:

Next post: