Recommendations + Reviews

by Holly on June 29, 2010

in breakfast,dinner,lunch,rambling,reviews

For the record, I don’t recommend meditating at 9:45pm laying in bed.

You will most likely wake up at 1:38am in a state of complete disorientation wondering why all the lights in your apartment are still on with drool running down the left side of your gaping mouth.

I speak from experience people.

For the seven or so minutes I actually meditated last night, I felt surprisingly calm despite the fact my mind wandered from wondering what Jake Gyllenhaal was doing at the very moment I was meditating, to which fitness class to go to tomorrow at the gym, to which country I want to travel to next.

The important part was I brought my focus back each time my mind wandered.

For me, that is progress.

But just in case you were wondering, Jake was definitely meditating along with me. Soulmates have a knack for doing the same thing at the same time. I decided Bootcamp would be worth a try (it was). And Argentina…definitely Argentina.

I am sure the fact I only have $12.12 in my bank account probably came up too. In fact, I am positive I thought about it. It’s the one thing controlling my eating these days.

No money means no groceries, lots of PB+J sandwiches and eating up what I have – including massive amounts of buns Nature’s Pride so generously sent me to review for the blog in conjunction with Foodbuzz.

This time, its the Country White Bakery Buns.

The verdict? Not bad but definitely my least favorite of the three products.

Rice + beans have acted as a reliable lunch staple…

And my living in semi-poverty for the time being has given me the chance to finally try out the last of the Schwan’s Live Smart products I was also sent to taste test oh-so-long ago.

Let me tell you, I shudder to think of what I would be eating if I didn’t have this blog.

Perhaps a jar of wheat bran, peanut butter-covered coffee beans or dry, uncooked pasta sprinkled with ranch seasoning mix? I mean, that’s the best I can do with my barren pantry right now.

I digress.

The last product was indeed my favorite product…

Vegan (if I’m reading the ingredients correctly) and decent nutritional stats?

Excellent.

I cooked the whole box of Mediterranean Vegetable Couscous with 1/2 diced onion sauteed in EVOO + 3 large handfuls of spinach and came out with this colorful delight…

Slightly spiced, chewy and texturous, I loved this and would definitely buy it again.

Served with asparagus sauteed in EVOO + garlic…

Altogether now…

Pure deliciousness.

Since I forgot to bring this bar to Banff with me, I’ve had it sitting in my refrigerator taunting me. I meant to sent it to Susan, I really did. But then I had an idea, ran with it and before I knew it…

Genius was born.

Take 2 squares of said bacon chocolate bar, 1 sliced frozen banana, 1 tablespoon of peanut butter and a couple shakes of cinnamon. Throw it in a food processor. Blend until it looks like gloriously creamy ice cream. Scoop it into the nearest bowl, and try to actually taste it as you are scarfing it down in delight.

Now if you’ll excuse me, I have 15 minutes of meditating to do.

This time, I’m going to be sitting up in my living room on the most uncomfortable spot I can find on my wood floors. If I fall asleep this time, I think I might be trading in my therapist for a somnologist.

That would be a sleep doctor.

Let’s hope it doesn’t come to that.

{ 36 comments }

Evan Thomas June 29, 2010 at 8:16 pm

I had the milk choc bacon bar and honestly it didn’t wow me. Would’ve thought I’d love it but nope

Lauren June 29, 2010 at 8:16 pm

Haha, isn’t that the weirdest feeling when you wake up after realizing you feel asleep unintended. But that’s a sign of a great meditation!

Wow, that ice cream looks unbelievable! My what a frozen banana is capable of.

Hope your having a great week!

Jessica @ How Sweet It Is June 29, 2010 at 8:17 pm

Have I told you lately that I love you? Bacon chocolate?! I have obviously eaten a boatload of those bars.

Matt June 29, 2010 at 8:26 pm

Lol sometimes the cheap meals are the best! I love pb and j :)

Megan @ The Oatmeal Diaries June 29, 2010 at 8:26 pm

I’m really impressed with your Jake connection, and also a little jealous. =P
I was just looking through the Schwann’s catalogue last night for the first time and was really impressed! My friend said their sushi isn’t half bad. Good luck with your meditation!

Erica June 29, 2010 at 8:27 pm

oohhh man- reminder to me. I have two Schwan’s meals in the freezer I have not yet tried. Whoops. Gotta get on that. Glad you enjoyed this last one. I am terrible at relaxing & meditating. My brain goes all over the place. You always seem to have pretty delicious looking meals when you have no food. I’m jealous :)

jenna June 29, 2010 at 8:37 pm

dessert looks delish!

maxinthegym June 29, 2010 at 8:37 pm

Bacon in chocolate…huh. I’m stumped. Haha

Amy B @ Second City Randomness June 29, 2010 at 9:22 pm

We have a vosges in Lincoln Park. I talk about it with everyone because I am determined to buy a bacon chocolate bar. I know I’ll just love it. I just haven’t gone yet… fail.

BroccoliHut June 29, 2010 at 9:27 pm

Love the looks of that couscous dish–pearled couscous is somehow so much more delicious than the other kind.

katie June 29, 2010 at 9:32 pm

holllaaaa i HAVE THAT BACON CHOCOLATE BAR! love it!! kind of weird smoky tasting? but really good!

Madeline - Greens and Jeans June 29, 2010 at 11:24 pm

Oh mannnn I am hopping on a plane to come devour some of that ice cream (although, I have a feeling you did a pretty good job of this on your own). Also, we should plan an adventure because I need some excitement in my life.

Molly June 30, 2010 at 12:15 am

Bacon chocolate…that sounds crazy! How was it?! Now the soft serve I dig. In 34 days…yes, making that :)

Emilie June 30, 2010 at 12:49 am

ohmigod. that softserve. you are my idol.

Ilana June 30, 2010 at 12:53 am

oh. my. gosh.

yeah, you’re epic.

Kristin (Salty Tooth) June 30, 2010 at 7:11 am

Yes, bacon chocolate. I am in love.

samantha June 30, 2010 at 9:35 am

i snuck a piece of my roommates milk chocolate bacon bar, but didn’t love it. that COULD be because i don’t like milk chocolate though, no?

i meditate on my yoga mat on the hard wood floor — its comfortable enough to settle in, but not so comfortable that you will fall asleep. i’m trying to meditate everyday for 15 minutes too – i like to do it right before bed so i go to sleep with calm thoughts (of chris pine)!

Kacy June 30, 2010 at 9:37 am

I’m going through a similar grocery situation. Blarg. But that Schwann’s Couscous looks great! Very nice!

Heather (Perspective Is Everything) June 30, 2010 at 10:16 am

amazing how well you can still eat with only $12.12 in the bank, eh?! good for you!
bacon chocolate=Yes. I made some bacon/chocolate bark out of coconut a while back. so yum :)

Heather (Perspective Is Everything) June 30, 2010 at 10:16 am

i meant to say the bark was made of coconut OIL :)

Katie June 30, 2010 at 10:25 am

That dessert, Holly. Geeeeez…insanity. Not the workout – the wonderfully yummy type of insanity.

Also, when I was in college and had absolutely ZERO money (I can remember days with 38 cents in my bank account) I would “dine” on the samples at whole foods (once I got kicked out) and also eat massive amounts of rice and beans, oatmeal, and eggs. That was my diet. It was awful. I wish I was a food blogger then.

I’m on the lookout for a money-maker-man for you to marry. ;-)

Angharad June 30, 2010 at 11:20 am

Hmmm poor people eats. I mastered at that in university. Baked beans on toast was my speciality. I did a mean job of tarting it up with worcestershire sauce, herbs, and a bit of cheap cheddar. Staple.
When I’m poor these days, lunch means walking to the grocery store and buying a sweet potato and then just shaking some cinnamon on it. Yeah.

It’s not always fun but it sure makes you think about what you have and what you really need.

xx

Emily (A Nutritionist Eats) June 30, 2010 at 1:31 pm

The Beans & Rice remind me of a week growing up we had beans & rice for dinner every night. My parents called it the “third-world diet”…
I’m impressed with the Schwans dish! Who would have thought!

Susan June 30, 2010 at 1:54 pm

Oohhh, I will be eating some very SIMPLE stuff once I get to Toronto. My bank account is at nil. Which is awful, because I’ll be in the most diverse city in the country in terms of food, and won’t be able to afford any of it! Gah!

It’s okay about the bacon bar. I still love you. It’s my own fault, I may have created a red-meat-eating monster in Alberta ;) I went to the art gallery here yesterday and they had Riopelles – I thought of you!!! xoxo

Diana @ frontyardfoodie June 30, 2010 at 7:39 pm

I should just actually try getting to bed by 9:45pm…..being pregnant takes it out of me but for some reason I suck at actually getting to bed at a decent hour.

Ashley June 30, 2010 at 8:17 pm

The only thing I recommend dong at 9:45 in the morning is sleeping or wine.

Rosey Rebecca June 30, 2010 at 8:22 pm

All of your eats look fabulous today! I have a similar situation with my bank account…and with meditating in bed. :-)

kelsey@snackingsquirrel.com June 30, 2010 at 10:39 pm

YOUR FOOD IS CRAZY INSANE AND DELICIOUS!

and i just saw ur past post and almost died when i saw peanut butter and jam hotdogs!! HOLY FREAKING YUM! <3

Sarah (Running to Slow Things Down) July 1, 2010 at 6:36 am

Your eats look positively wonderful! And I can completely relate on the bank account front, by the way. ;)

I’m lovin’ Eat, Pray, Love. The first part of the book, where she spent time in Italy was by far my favorite. And the entire book caused me to be bitten by the traveling bug. :D

k @ ksgoodeats July 1, 2010 at 9:01 am

That couscous looks pretty good! I’ve never had Schwann’s before but I see their trucks EVERYWHERE! Love the creativity of your dessert :)

Sami July 1, 2010 at 9:41 am

Way to make good use of the bloggin’ goods :) It looks great! Regardless of your bank account, your eats never cease to astound me :) Bacon chocolate peanut butter banana ss??? freaking genious.

Kristie July 1, 2010 at 2:37 pm

I honestly don’t know if I could actually succeed in doing the whole mediation thing, but I sure do feel like I could use it right about now. Though thoughts of Jakie G sound more appealing than a mind full of a whole lot of nothing. If I really do ever try to mediate I think it’s going to take a LOT of practice.

I love being forced to eat up the last random bits of food hanging around the house when there’s nothing left to eat. Then again, I live at home and don’t do my own cupboard stocking so that situation is a rarity therefore it’s a novelty when it happens. If it were by force because my bank account was on a diet then I have a feeling I wouldn’t enjoy it quite so much. Even so, you make some mad good meals with minimal resources. Your banana dish (as opposed to the mediation I am definitely not doing right now) is making ME drool.

Erica D July 1, 2010 at 3:54 pm

I hear you! Meditation is hard. So hard. When I was staying at a monastery this past May, we did the Christian equivalent (kinda?) called Lectio Divina, where you meditate on a verse, and that was just as difficult! But one cool thing that happens every day in the Benedictine rule is that you go to prayer first thing every day, immediately followed by mass before you do anything else. It takes about an hour, and even though my stomach was always grumbling (sometimes audibly), I was always glad to be forced to do it. Even though spoken prayer, I think, is much easier than meditation, the routine definitely helped. I’m sure you’ll find your flow!

I’m so glad that you like your therapist! It’s true that we all have issues. I don’t have any diagnoses to speak of, but I definitely have had times where I wish I could go to therapy just so I could go on and on and on forever about my past and figure out why I am the way I am. Thankfully I have a boyfriend who likes deep conversation and friends who are even more talkative than me.

Laura @ Backstage Pass to Health & Happiness July 1, 2010 at 5:48 pm

Hey, first time reader / commenter, love your blog! And I am from Milwaukee so we’re nearly neighbors :-)

LOL on the meditating in bed… I am totally guilty of high ambitions and then waking up in the drool you speak of. It’s gotten better since I graduated and thus less drool on reading materials, and no text books to ruin.

Katherine July 1, 2010 at 6:44 pm

bacon bar? you would…

wendy @ ABCs and Garden Peas July 2, 2010 at 12:32 pm

Is that the same chocolate company that makes the chocolate bacon PIG? I want that. It’s just so in-your-face!

I had a bacon cookie the other day at a local cafe. I also made bacon vodka but then went and got prego, so I couldn’t make BLTinis.

Comments on this entry are closed.

Previous post:

Next post: