week in review

by Holly on October 8, 2011

in week in review

It’s been a really silly…kinda crazy…potentially exciting…unexpectedly productive…and overall awesome week. Both on AND off this Everythingtarian blog of mine.

(1) For starters, running that 10-mile race last Sunday without any legitimate training was really silly. BUT TOTALLY FUN! You should try it sometime. Just run slow. Because like they always say, slow and steady wins the race. And by ‘wins the race,’ they clearly mean ‘eats a ginormous brunch afterwards.’

(2) The craziness set in when I received an email notifying me I was nominated in the 2011 Foodbuzz Blog Awards for Best Writing Voice. Ummm…seriously? My cheeks immediately blushed; I was reminded how lovely for all my dear readers are; and I got goosebumps. Yep, I’m a nerd. If you feel so inclined, vote for me here. Do you want me to bold and capitalize that link just to make sure you know to VOTE FOR ME HERE? Okay, okay, you don’t have to twist my arm…done.

(3) Potentially exciting. Hmmm…that’s one topic that’s staying off the blog for now. However, I can tell you something that is actually, for real, legit exciting? These Vegan Zucchini Brownies. Shred that zucchini finely, add that cocoa powder and do {vegan} work.

(4) This week was unexpectedly productive. I almost burned my kitchen down and lived to tell about it. I traversed the islands of Thailand alone and lived to tell about it. I made some major progress at work…on freelance work…on life work (saw Wale in concert on Monday. It was awesome)…on friend work…and on happy hour work.  Because drinking alcoholic libations during happy hour is legitimate work. I stand by that.

And now I’m at home with Mama, Daddy + Sister Everythingtarian, which means one thing: free food. So yes, in conclusion, I would give this week an overall awesome rating.

P.S. I also signed up for my second marathon. Nashville 2012 baby.

{ 25 comments }

Hillary October 8, 2011 at 3:05 pm

I hope the potentially exciting news is that you’re pregnant with Jake Gyllenhall’s love child.

Sorry. Did I cross the line?

And consider my vote submitted. No bold/underline link necessary for persuasion!

Lindsay @ Lindsay's List October 8, 2011 at 3:24 pm

Need an update ASAP please! Living vicariously…

Julia H. @ The Petite Spiel October 8, 2011 at 3:38 pm

Sounds like a pretty good week to me! And congrats and the nomination–Best Writing Voice completely makes sense…it’s SO true! Hence why I voted….Duhhhhhhhh.

chelsey @ clean eating chelsey October 8, 2011 at 3:51 pm

You sure did have an awesome week.

I’m impressed by the marathon sign up! Go you!

Erica October 8, 2011 at 3:52 pm

Congrats on the nomination!!! I hope you win!! Glad things are going so well!!

Averie @ Love Veggies and Yoga October 8, 2011 at 4:02 pm

I voted for you last night :) Done.

And your week sounds awesome. I always had the best races when I didnt train for them and went into them with a ‘whatever’ attitude. I’d like to do well but if I dont, oh well. And if I take walk breaks, whatever. And those were the races I’d rock.

For now I’d like to rock a zuke brownie though :)

Danielle October 8, 2011 at 4:49 pm

Basically… You rock. And I’m especially proud of myself for having known that all along ;). Love you, girl, and congrats on everythiny that made up this fabulous week. You certainly deserve it!

Heather @ Get Healthy with Heather October 8, 2011 at 5:09 pm

Sounds like a VERY awesome week! Congrats on the nomination girl. You so deserve it.

Abby October 8, 2011 at 7:37 pm

Congrats, sister friend! (I’m talking about the delicious vegan veggie brownie things, of course.) You deserve it (the brownie, again) and I voted for you (to eat the brownie.)

Oh yeah–and ditto on that Foodbuzz thing ;)

Courtney October 8, 2011 at 9:45 pm

HOORAY on the marathon sign up! Excittttting!

Diana @ frontyardfoodie October 8, 2011 at 9:47 pm

Aww congrats!

Oh and blush away, you deserve it like none other.

Michelle @ Oats n' Bows October 8, 2011 at 11:41 pm

What a coveted title… congrats! Totally voted for you :) you deserve it!

Madeline - Greens and Jeans October 9, 2011 at 7:18 am

1. omg, I guess this means I really need to figure out how I feel about another marathon
2. we must discuss this potentially exciting thing asap.

Katie October 9, 2011 at 10:19 am

Ahh I love Nashville! I’m so excited for you! I wish I could run it with you! And of course I voted for you. :-)

Lindsay @ In Sweetness and In Health October 9, 2011 at 1:12 pm

Sounds like a great week!! And yay for signing up for another marathon! :)

Brittany October 9, 2011 at 3:03 pm

That’s so exciting that you signed up for the marathon! You will do awesome if you can run a 10 miler without little training.

Jessica October 9, 2011 at 8:44 pm

Congrats on the nomination! You have my vote!!

Andrea@WellnessNotes October 9, 2011 at 9:30 pm

Again, congrats on your FB nomination!!!

Good for you to sign up for your second marathon!

Hope you enjoyed your parents’ free food! :) :) :)

sofia October 9, 2011 at 10:08 pm

dude. so totally voted for you like, days ago.

what is this secretive exciting news? hmmmm. of course i’m thinkin’ one thing. g-talk soon? :)

Matt @ The Athlete's Plate October 10, 2011 at 6:50 pm

AWESOME on the marathon :)

Brittany October 11, 2011 at 10:35 am

Hi Holly!

I just found your blog and am in love with your writing style. I can’t wait to go back and read more of your posts when I feel like being a blog bum/need a distraction from my work!

I have a blog I started a few weeks ago that you might like at oatsmagotes.blogspot.com if you like oatmeal:) I’m an avid runner myself and oats are my spinach if I were Popeye, I guess you could say.

Ps- congrats on enrolling for your 2nd marathon! I was training for one last year but badly injured my IT band after a 20 mile run :( I look forward to reading more of your posts!

Jen@foodfamilyfitness October 11, 2011 at 1:59 pm

I want to know the secret news, sounds exciting!!!

Megan (Braise the Roof) October 11, 2011 at 3:22 pm

I bet that marathon is going to be awesome- I’m toying with the idea of training for something…not sure what. Congrats on the FB nom- you really deserve to win, and I mean that from the bottom of my heart.

Kristie October 11, 2011 at 4:48 pm

Alright, so I am signed up for a marathon the week after yours, which means… let’s train together. In the spring. It’ll be fun. Right? :)

Laura @ Backstage Balance October 17, 2011 at 5:08 pm

Yeah for signing up for your second marathon! Nashville is a great one but a very hilly course. That was my first marathon and my legs / feet / bones / soul and I will never, ever forget it.

Comments on this entry are closed.

Previous post:

Next post: